Mokobbir Khan takes oath defyin Gonoforum decision

Special Correspondent
Gono Forum leader Mokobbir Khan has taken his oath of office in parliament on Tuesday.
He becomes the second Jatiya Oikya Front MP after Sultan Md Mansur to defy the coalition’s decision to stay away from parliament.
Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhary administered oath to Mokobbir as a parliament member at her office at 12pm on Tuesday. The ceremony was moderated by Parliament Secretary Zafar Ahmed Khan.
Earlier, he Gono Forum sacked Sultan Mohammed Mansur Ahmed immediately after he took oath as MP going against the party’s decision on whether to sit in parliament, but that has not been the case for Mokobbir Khan.
Meanwhile, the leaders of the Gono Forum at last change its decision to expel Mohammad Mokabbir Khan, MP elect from Sylhet 2 constituency for his joining the Bangladesh Jatiya Sangshad on Tuesday.
A meeting organized for the preparation of the national conference of the Gono Forum on Tuesday evening with Advocate Subrata Chowdhury in the chair discussed to take action against those who violated the party decision.
The meeting was informed that Mohammad Mokabbir Khan personally joined the Bangladesh Jatiya Sangshad violating the provision of the constitution in connection with floor crossing in the parliament. Mokabbir was elected to the parliament with the party symbol “ rising sun” in the election of December 30.
The meeting bitterly discussed the joining of Mohammad Mokabbir Khan, MP, after having a request from the members of presidium of the party, they opted for taking the issue for discussing at the presidium and the central committee of the party later.
The leaders of the party said that the presidium meeting of the party will be held within next seven days adding that the central committee meeting of the party will be held on April 20 next to decide on the matter of expulsion of Mohammad Mokabbir Khan.
Advocate Subrata Chowdhury, Executive President of the party said that as per rules, the party secretary will write to the speaker regarding joining of the member to the parliament. But Mohammad Mokabbir Khan, MP, himself wrote to the speaker for joining to the party.
Mohammad Mokabbir Khan, MP violated the Articles of the Constitution.Advocate Subrata Chowdhury said that the central committee of the party will meet on April 20 and will take decision over the matter.
The BNP coalition said their candidates who won the elections would not take oath. They alleged widespread vote rigging and other irregularities in the polls won by Sheikh Hasina’s Awami League for third straight term.
Hours after former Awami League leader Sultan took oath on Mar 7, Gono Forum Secretary General Mustafa Mohsin Montu at a news conference announced expulsion of Sultan from its presidium.
Sultan had claimed he had not been a member of the Gono Forum but the Jatiya Oikya Prokriya platform of Dr Kamal.
Mokobbir had backtracked on his decision on oath at the time. He now says he has the party’s permission to take oath, a claim Montu has refuted.
As many as 29 leaders of the party’s central committee, except Dr Kamal, attended Tuesday’s meeting and tasked Subrata with informing their chief about their demand for expelling Mokobbir.
The six MPs-elect of the BNP have not taken oath yet and the Election Commission will have to organise polls to their constituencies if they are not sworn in within Apr 30.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *