Art & Culture

National convention of JRSSP concludes

Artistes present a dance recital at the programme.

Cultural Correspondent
The three-day 38th national convention of Jatiyo Rabindra Sangeet Sammelan Parishad (JRSSP) ended with an award and certificate distribution ceremony on Sunday at the open field of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy.
The organisation honoured Shylet-based octogenarian Dhamail singer Sushama Das with Rabindra Padak at the closing ceremony.
The concluding day’s programme began with JRSSP members placing floral wreaths at Central Shaheed Minar at 9:00 am.
Following which, JRSSP members elected the new central executive committee of the organisation for the next two years at BSA.
Dr Sanjida Khatun, Dr Ataur Rahaman, Bulbul Ahmed and Nasemun Hossain were respectively elected president, executive president, general secretary and treasurer of the organisation.
The closing ceremony began at 4:30 pm. President of JRSSP Sanjida Khatun presided over the event.
Sanjida Khatun handed over Rabindra Padak award to Sushama Das, who received a medal and cash prize of Tk 50,000 as part of the award.
JRSSP also distributed certificates, crests and certificates among contestants who participated in a two-day music competition held at Music and Dance Centre of BSA.
A total of 450 young singers from across the country participated in contest. Tahmid Wasif from Dhaka won the Anayaman award.
‘Tagore’s love for humanity cannot be described in words. Though Rabindranath Tagore made significant contribution to Bengali literature, Tagore artistes had to face many difficulties when it came to promoting Tagore’s works and philosophy,’ said Sanjida Khatun.
The cultural programme commenced with BRSSP artistes singing Tagore song Aguner parashmoni choao tomar praney and Apaon hote bahir hoye dara.
Amit Chowdhury, Sweety Das and Rachel Priyanka Perris presented dance recitals.
In solos, singers Khairuzzaman Kayum, Mansura Begum, Sushmita Ahmed, Rezwana Choudhury Bannya, Mita Haque, Anima Roy, Adity Mohsin, Laisa Ahmed Lisa and others rendered Tagore songs.
Besides, singers presented traditional songs to entertain the audience. Singers like Chandana Majumdar, Kiran Chandra Roy, Biman Chandra Biswas and others rendered folk songs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *